It’s County Fair Season!

By: Paige McFarland
Kansas Corn Intern

Image

Isn’t that the truth!! To find out more about the 4-H organization check out this link! https://www.facebook.com/4-h

It’s that time of year again. Yes, you know exactly what I’m talking about- COUNTY FAIR TIME. This is probably one of my favorite seasons. (If you’re a former 4-Her you know exactly what I mean when I say season!) It’s not just four days of funnel cakes, rodeos and rides. County fairs take months and months of preparation- whether you are the extension agent organizing fair books or the 4-Her halter breaking their heifer or even trying to perfect that apple pie.

Looking back on my 4-H years, I cannot tell you how many taste tests my family had of pies where the filling was just too runny or breads that did not rise perfectly. I cannot tell you how many times I messed up an entry card when it asked how many years I’d been in 4-H (because it seemed like the answer should be infinity.) I cannot tell you how many times I stepped in animal feces walking around the fairgrounds waiting on club tours. I cannot tell you how many sodas I sold during the demolition derby while our club did their concession stand time. But there is one thing I can tell you- I can tell you that looking back it’s been one of the single most memorable experiences from my childhood.

4-H isn’t just the county fair. 4-H helps many young children, including myself, learn key morals and values in their lives and for that; I owe so much to this organization. Responsibility, leadership, work ethic and determination are just a few that come to mind. So while you’re walking around your county fair this year try to recognize these kids and extension agents for all they do for the county. It’s a wonderful time of year for so many reasons, embrace it!

 

Image

This picture couldn’t be more true! To find out more about the 4-H organization check out this link! https://www.facebook.com/4-h

🙂

One response to this post.

  1. This design is wicked! You definitely know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost
    moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that,
    how you presented it. Too cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

