Agriculture Education

Agriculture Education
Paige McFarland, Intern

      Do you know where your breakfast came from this morning? I do, but I’ve read that nearly 98 percent of Americans have absolutely NO idea where and how their food or clothing is made. I obviously can’t tell you exactly which pig on a farm in the United States my bacon came from. But I do know my bacon comes from a pig. The majority of people assume that you just buy your food and clothing from a store, where their factories make it. Contrary to popular belief, that statement is false. In today’s society, with resources vanishing, people need to understand the importance of agriculture now more than ever. How can you help people come to the understanding? I have chose Agriculture Education as my major at Kansas State University to help people better understand the importance of agriculture and where we would be without it.

            So many people fail to understand the extent of which that corn is used. Things you would never guess like plastic Wal-mart sacks, diapers, fireworks and ceiling tile are all made with corn. The different types of corn are used for different things. Field corn is mainly used for livestock feed and ethanol but a very small amount of our crop is used for sweeteners, cereal and other types of food. Sweet corn and popcorn are different types of corn. and others are used to make the other products.

            If you have followed my posts on Facebook, Twitter or even my previous blog posts I have shared some of my experiences about teaching moments. The most recent was just a few days ago when a little girl asked me “Why is your corn not green? Is it because it’s sad because it’s so hot and sweat the green out?” Yes, that really happened. She pretty much hit the nail right on the head with that one. (In an explanation that would make sense to a six year old.) I proceeded to tell her that when it gets really hot (like this year!) that the corn gets tired and hot just like we do.

            Agriculture is a part of people’s lives, whether they want it to be or not. It is extra important to me to educate people because it is such a big part of my life. Today is the last day of my internship at the Kansas Corn and Grain Sorghum offices. I will continue to advocate for agriculture and hope that I can make an influence in the agricultural industry.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Hi! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga
    group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really
    enjoy your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

