You may have asked yourself “what is the difference between the Kansas Corn Growers Association and the Kansas Corn Commission?” They are in the same office, with the same staff and both deal with corn in Kansas. I, too, was wondering about this when I joined the staff in October of 2009.

The Kansas Corn Growers Association (KCGA) represents Kansas corn growers throughout the corn industry, U.S. government, and consumers throughout the world. KCGA works with elected leaders and regulators ensure legislation and regulations that will benefit corn growers and its customers. KCGA has been active in pesticide and water quality issues, as well as issues related to livestock, ethanol and exports of corn and its products.  KCGA also provides services to the Kansas Corn Commission for market development and promotion. KCGA is affiliated with the National Corn Growers Association and Kansas growers play an active role in the national association. Kansas has had two NCGA Presidents—Roger Pine of Lawrence and Ken McCauley of White Cloud. Other grower leaders from Kansas serve on NCGA committees. KCGA is the leading voice for growers in Kansas. For more information visit http://www.ksgrains.com/corn/.

The KCGA has four full-time staff members and a board of directors made up of twelve  growers from across the state of Kansas. Interested in joining the KCGA? For only $110 you receive a three-year membership in the Kansas and National Corn Growers Association. A free seed deal offers a free bag of seed for a three-year membership. Visit http://www.ksgrains.com/corn/memb.html for more information on membership.

Research, market development, promotion and education for Kansas corn is funded by the Kansas Corn Commission (KCC) through the check-off program. The Kansas corn checkoff assessment is one-half cent per bushel, collected at the site of first purchase, and is refundable. The commodity checkoffs are collected by the Kansas Department of Agriculture and distributed to the commodity commissions who administer the checkoffs. The nine corn commissioners represent the state’s nine crop reporting districts and are elected by growers in their districts. They serve a three-year term. To see who makes up the KCC visit http://www.ksgrains.com/kcc/commissioners.htm.

 The Kansas Corn Growers Association and Kansas Corn Commission housed in the same office in Garnett, Kansas. KCGA provides administrative services for the Kansas Corn Commission.

*The Kansas Grains blog focuses on both corn and sorghum in Kansas. If you are a grower that would like to contribute to this blog, or if you have a question about content, please contact DeEtta at dbohling@ksgrains.com.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: